Geoffrey Fox and Wojtek Furmanski of Syracuse University and collaborators from Bellcore Corporation, Boston University, and Cooperative Systems Corporation won the High-Performance Computing Challenge Award for Most Geographically Dispersed and Heterogeneous Factoring on the World-Wide Computer (WWC) at SUPERCOMPUTING '95.

Peter Beckman, Dennis Gannon, and Kate Keahey of Indiana University and collaborators from the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA), Pittsburgh Supercomputing Center, Princeton University, and the University of California at Santa Cruz won the High-Performance Computing Challenge Award for Best Integration of Heterogeneous Applications for "Gallaxies Collide on the I-WAY" at SUPERCOMPUTING '95.

Linda Torczon of Rice University has been honored in the alumnus category as one of 16 Outstanding Rice Women for her demonstrated service to the campus and the community and for being a role model to university women. Also honored were undergraduates Sara Carlstead and Melissa Chaika, who have been actively involved in CRPC Women's Programs. They accepted their awards in early February at the grand opening of the Women's Resource Center at Rice.

Danny Powell of Rice University was honored at the 1996 Association of University Technology Managers (AUTM) Annual Meeting in February for his creation and implementation of the AUTM Web site. The award recognizes contributions to the continued growth and awareness of AUTM.

Table of Contents